The Lena Landegger Community Service Awards

To commemorate the memory of the late Lena Landegger, the Landegger Charitable Foundation has made a generous gift to Georgetown University for the purpose of honoring and rewarding Georgetown undergraduates for distinguished contributions to community service. These are students who have voluntarily committed to serve those in need in the many communities of which Georgetown is a part. Each year, twenty students will be selected to receive the awards. The Lena Landegger Community Service Awards provide a remarkable occasion for Georgetown to celebrate and honor its deep commitment to community service.

“In Jesuit education, service is not just about helping, but about learning. As we help someone in need, we hopefully learn from them in a way that builds friendship. In Catholic social teaching, we call this solidarity – the recognition that we are all children of God, that we all have needs and that we all have something to give and to learn from one another.”
-    Rev. Kevin O’Brien, S.J. 2012 Landegger Awards Ceremony

Congratulations to the 2017 Recipients of the Lena Landegger Community Service Awards!          Photo of Landegger recipients, award presenters, and faculty members       

Mayra Alaniz                      Lillian Flashner                                Jason Low
Febin Bellamy                    Patrick Gage                               Nirmal Maitra
Luke Brown                        Bserat Ghebremicael            Clara Mejia Orta
Josue Coronado                 Olivia Hinerfeld                     Madeline Moore
Natasha DeSousa               Carlo Izzo                             Alexandra O'Kane
Victoria Efetevbia              Benjamin Johnson                     Carolyn Vilter
    Brandon Ferrell                 Niki Khandheria                                                      


Questions? Email